Unicum Ház belépőjegy
Zwack Museum and Visitors’ Centre
Dr. Zwack! Das ist ein Unicum! – declared Joseph II, having tasted the unique drink made for him by his royal physician. It took 50 years till the drink became available to the public, when in 1840 Joseph Zwack founded the first factory in the Moroccan Court, today Erzsébet Square. The factory had been growing quickly, it moved to Two Saracens and Üllői Street, and then finally it occupied its final place at 26 Soroksári Street in 1892. This is the place for Zwack Museum and Visitors’ Centre as well, displaying the history and the past of the family and the herb liqueur, where visitors can follow a more than 225 years old story on exclusive recordings. With the help of family relics, documents and photographs exhibited in the museum you can experience not only the family’s adventurous past from the beginning until the present day, but also the milestones of Hungarian history. The museum contains one of the richest miniature bottle collections in Europe, including some rare specialties.
The exceptional distillery standing in the middle of the factory area was reconstructed based on original photographs and depicts the enchanting 19th century atmosphere of the liqueur factory. In the building, often called the “Heart of Unicum” distillation machines and enormous ceramic barrels used for extraction of herbs and spices can be seen, as well as fragrant herbs that may be the ingredients of Unicum’s secret recipe.
An exciting closing part of the program is a guided tour in the cellar, the territory of which is 2500 m2. Visitors can taste the original Unicum and Unicum Plum, the latest flavour aged on dried plums, unforgettable Zwack liqueurs on tap right from one of the 500 oak casks.
Your online ticket is valid for the indicated date for Unicum's old distillery and cellar tour with tour guide and also valid for visiting the museum
House of Unicum
1095 Budapest, Dandár str. 1.
Tel.: +36 1 476 2383
email: [email protected]